I haven't been to Attitash/Bear Peak for a few years. The routine used to be Wildcat Saturday then Attitash/Bear Peak on Sunday. Once they labeled Illusion a blue square I didn't want to be there anymore, and in my opinion led to the decline (or at least decline in my mind) of the mountain. 

Now you get beginners on Illusion who don't belong there, experts end up on the easier trails doing high speed flybys past other beginners, all leading to a scraped off chaos. The skier social contract is broken there. 

Friends with little kids just learning to ski ask me "Attitash or Wildcat". I tell them WIldcat because the beginner area is mostly separated from the main mountain. On the Attitash side you have absolute beginners on the same trail as experts. I don't think anyone is happy in that situation. 

I'm happier at Wildat, so I guess that's just my 2 cents. 

In the several hundred ski days on my peak pass over the years, the only times I have skiied attitash is when I stayed there. Have not once woken up and driven there, the formula is roughly wildcat if I have the whole day and it's not too cold, otherwise crotched. 

Paradoxically, we are looking to purchase a place in the mwv over the next couple of years and I keep coming back to attitash. Wildcat is my preferred mountain but it would be nice to be within walking distance for those days when you dont feel like driving. Main concern is the longterm viability of peaks and the no dogs rule at the attitash village. Would love to see some kind of expansion coupled with a lift improvement to put the place back in the game. 

Today we skied Attitash and the conditions were great.  They were blowing on Bear Peak so we didn’t go over.  It was cold but some friends decided to head over to Wildcat after racing.  Two runs over there and they were done.  Too cold.  I on the other hand had a full day at Attitash.  Love Wildcat but you need to pick your days.

1 hour ago, StraightSkis said: