Sign in to follow this  

Been there before. And walked out 3 miles.  

I am pulling BB this afternoon and cleaning since I am getting some creaking on the power stroke.  Made my own press fit removal tool this morning at work and picked up some all thread, washers and nuts for the install.

1 hour ago, Puck it said:

I am pulling BB this afternoon and cleaning since I am getting some creaking on the power stroke.

Hmm. I've noticed some creaking in mine too. Is it a pretty straightforward job? These guys seem to have some pretty reasonably priced tools compared to Park Tools.

$35 bucks for a press

press-7-red.600px.jpg

I have never done a press fit before.  Other bike was threaded.  You need a removal tool too. Buy this below and and you get the bushings for install.   Just get some all thread for $5 and nuts.  It does not look to hard from the videos.

Image result for park bbt-90.3 press-fit bottom bracket tool

2017 Summer of Destruction continues :( I jumped to flat on a step down on my DH bike and broke the shaft on my rear shock. The good news is, I rode it out. The bad news is, SRAM doesn't list the size of my shock as a product any longer (Rockshox Kage RC 267x89). I can't even find any for sale on-line. I saw one on Pinkbike, but the seller hasn't responded. LBS is getting in touch with SRAM to see if they can just get the parts to repair mine. If they can't, I'm going to contact YT to see if they'll sell me one since they are still spec'ing them on the Tues. Worst case scenario is I'll have to upgrade to a Vivid R2C, but it ain't cheap.