NEMS Article - 2015 Geezer Ski Bum Tour – EpicSki #1

2015 Geezer Ski Bum Tour – EpicSki #1

Jamesj
By: Jamesj
Posted 1/28/15  Last updated 1/28/15  871 views  11 comments

2015 Geezer Ski Bum Tour – EpicSki #1

By Jim Kenney

The Prologue, January 28, 2015

I retired on January 2, 2015 after 37+ years as a U. S. Government employee.  This Saturday, January 31, 2015 I’m going to take advantage of this crossroads in my life and head west for the months of February and March to pursue a dream long deferred.  The yearning to go “ski bumming” comes from my deep and insatiable love of skiing, but it’s also a response to a missed opportunity I had many years ago to do something similar after I graduated from college (Go Terps). 

In the winter of 1977 I was fresh out of school with no immediate job prospects.  I thought about heading west then, but I was compelled to find a serious career. Instead, I stayed home near Washington D.C. and bided my time clerking at a drug store while applying for numerous federal job vacancies. The civil service finally called six months later and I can’t complain how things ultimately worked out, but I always felt I blew a golden opportunity to do a winter in ski country.

So a lifetime later I’m going to give it a go. I have set a somewhat ambitious itinerary for an older dude traveling solo and I’ll be on the road for 64 days, logging approximately 6,400 miles in my Subaru Outback.  I’ve identified a string of cheap motels, hostels, and possible couch-surfing opportunities along the way.  Hopefully, things come together and stay together.

The vagabond and his kit for this trip.  Photo by Jim Kenney

LL