Sign in to follow this  
Weatherman

December 2017 weather discussion

1 hour ago, Weatherman said:

It's happening. Winter arrives next week.

I really hope we don't get a bunch of snow chasers at Jay this weekend, the triple can't take it...

The weather beginning Wednesday looks promising for some extended snowmaking. Am I a fool to think that the Mighty Poconos might be largely open by the weekend?

Blue (in PA) managed to open last weekend with basically one trail, but they've been firing the guns literally whenever they can despite repeated inversions that keep them from making snow at the ridge top--I think they have a partially-automated system or something. I'm a weather noob, just wondering if I should get my hopes up for some actual trail options this weekend.  

5a242a6d5fd23_WeatherDec3.png.653ba4309eb85b852a3456e3919d2555.png

Sure, it's going to be cold. But the coldest air will stay off to our west, and nothing is phasing correctly for significant snow. At least the snowmakers will be working overtime.

Yeah, it looks like down here the snowmaking will still be limited to a few hours overnight, so it won't be quite the all-out gun show I was hoping for. 

(Real snow!? Hunny, I live in Pennsylvania. I'm not even thinking about real snow! Faux-sneaux and not getting a Bud Light can dropped on my head from the chairlift is an above-average day in paradise over here.)  :D

• Like 1

On 11/29/2017 at 10:05 PM, MimersG said:

I really hope we don't get a bunch of snow chasers at Jay this weekend, the triple can't take it...

Does Jay only have the Jet Triple open for lifts?

It looks like 5-10 mph winds next week with gusts into the 20s, so the Tram probably wouldn't be running anyways.

14 minutes ago, Jcb890 said:

It looks like 5-10 mph winds next week with gusts into the 20s, so the Tram probably wouldn't be running anyways.

Currently: Jet Triple, Taxi Quad and Stateside Moving Carpet.