Catherine

Bomb Cyclone

28 minutes ago, Catherine said:

That article uses double superlative media buzz words. Bomb cyclone and a polar vortex! An exploding storm!

• Like 1

5 minutes ago, Catherine said:

So, over-hyped or are we in for a hell of a storm?

I'm looking at a blog entry tonight. Storm yes. But not the end of times.

Being a DC area resident I read that weatherman' stuff a lot in the Wash Post.  There is a lot of hyperbole there for a six inch snowstorm, mostly offshore and missing most Eastern cities.  Sounds like some seashore locations could get some battering winds.  I will tell you that the Potomac River around DC is mostly frozen over at this time.  That only happens every few years.

13 hours ago, Weatherman said:

That article uses double superlative media buzz words. Bomb cyclone and a polar vortex! An exploding storm!

It's like Michael Bay is a weatherman.

Digesting the latest guidance right now. Looks like another westward shift. And the 3 km NAM is especially interesting. May have to wait until after work to really dig in. At first glance it looks like the model is keying in on some sleet working in.

• Like 2

For purposes of skiing this storm is fantastic. However, heavy winds with snow to take down power lines and trees followed by dangerous cold could leave many people in trouble and lots of homes in need of new plumbing and heating systems. 

• Like 1

4 hours ago, Flying Yeti said:

For purposes of skiing this storm is fantastic. However, heavy winds with snow to take down power lines and trees followed by dangerous cold could leave many people in trouble and lots of homes in need of new plumbing and heating systems. 

And heating fuel companies aren’t able to keep up with deliveries.  Even if you keep power, lots of people are in for a rough ride.